Board of Trustees


The Atkinson Development Trust has Trustees offering diverse skills, knowledge and experience who are appointed in compliance with the guidelines set by the Charity Commission.  The Trustees serve for a term of two years in a voluntary capacity.

Jo Kay, Chair

Jo has been an enthusiastic supporter of The Atkinson since her first visit in 2007, and by 2015 had joined the Board of The Atkinson Development Trust. She is currently Chair of the Trust.

Based in Manchester, she spends as much time as possible in Southport, so she can visit The Atkinson and go walking and foraging along the sea front. Jo is a consultant in audience development and works all over the North of England with arts and heritage organisations. Her favourite part of working with the Trust is helping The Atkinson’s skilled staff to use the treasures and stories of Sefton to make a positive impact on local people’s lives.


Cllr Jan Grace
As a Sefton Councillor in Victoria Ward, Crosby, Jan is proud of the fact that it was a Labour-led Sefton Council that instigated the restoration of The Atkinson and made this state of the art provision possible in Southport. Jan lives in Crosby and became a Trustee in 2016, her experience of sitting on scrutiny committees contributes to pertinent skills. She is passionate about art and culture as they contribute a great deal to individuals and society in general. Following a thirty-year career as a State Registered Nurse, she fulfilled a lifelong ambition and completed a BA (Hons) followed by an MRes in Art History, then more recently a post-graduate Diploma in Archives and Records Management. Jan works as a full-time archivist at Liverpool Record Office in the Central Library, working with many wonderful and varied collections. She considers it a privilege to be a Trustee of The Atkinson Development Trust and looks forward to watching it flourish and grow in stature in the coming years.

Ian Bryden

 Ian lives in Formby and has been involved in all aspects of amateur theatre in Sefton over many years.

He is an admirer of The Atkinson and all that it offers to the people of Sefton and is keen to help to take the fine examples of art and history that The Atkinson has to offer to an even wider audience throughout Sefton.

Ian brings to The Atkinson Development Trust many years’ experience as a consultant and project manager in various aspects of retail with top UK companies. Ian joined the Trust as Treasurer in October 2018.

Nathan Marsh

Nathan lives in Waterloo and was appointed as a Trustee at the end of 2017.

In 1993 Nathan spent a week at Southport Arts Centre (now called The Atkinson), doing his work experience. After completing his A Levels at Chesterfield High School, Crosby, in 1995 he trained at drama school in London and has spent his career working both in theatre and in education.

His main areas of interest are in promoting the work of The Atkinson and in developing and fostering meaningful relationships with Sefton

Stephen Whittle

 Stephen has been the Principal Manager of The Atkinson’s museum and gallery service since 2013. Stephen has managed a variety of museum services across the North West over the last 25 years and was appointed as a Trustee in 2018.

His role is to connect the work of The Atkinson with that of the Trust and to help develop projects that inspire and engage communities all over Sefton.


Samantha Browne

 Samantha began working for the Trust as a Minute Taker in 2016, following an expansion of her responsibilities she now has an Administrator role and was appointed to the Board as a Trustee in 2018.

She strives to promote the work of the Trust, as well as fostering the Board’s relationships with community establishments in Sefton.

If you would like to contact the Board, please email us at: